San Juan Hills Women's Golf Association

Club History

Past Presidents

1969 Margaret Debach	1993 Betsy Bosworth	2017 Debbie Geyer
1970 Jeanie Chabot	1994 Binky Valentine	2018 Debbie Geyer
1971 Melitas Forster	1995 Joyce May	2019 Terry Burd
1972 Binky Valentine	1996 Dorothy LaFever	2020 Terry Burd
1973 Liz Shattuck	1997 Dorothy LaFever	2021 Barb Kowalczyk
l1974 Liz Shattuck	1998 Jean Thorn	2022 Barb Kowalczyk
1975 Chris Behm	1999 Jean Thorn	2023 Cheryl Graber
1976 Fern Holmes	2000 Dianne Burdick	2024 Cheryl Graber
1977 Dorothy LaFever	2001 Dianne Burdick	2025 Letty Burks
1978 Helen Jerram	2002 Tomi Gettel	
1979 Jane Miller	2003 Tomi Gettel	
1980 Norma Voyles	2004 Judy Soulakis	
1981 Norma Voyles (Moore)	2005 Judy Soulakis	
1982 Katie Milsted	2006 Judy Soulakis	
1983 Peggy Baker	2007 Bobbi Taylor	
1984 Margy Anderson	2008 Bobbi Taylor	
1985	2009 Linda Healion	
1986 Bonnie Roos	2010 Linda Healion	
1987 Doris Davis	2011 Mary Dean	
1988 Dorothy LaFever	2012 Mary Dean	
1989 Dorothy LaFever	2013 Mary Bebek	
1990 Robert Alexander	2014 Mary Bebek	
1991 Robert Alexander	2015 Reni Vidovich	
1992 Betsy Bosworth	2016 Reni Vidovich	

SJHWGA Club Champions

1970 Fern Holmes 1996 Linda Healion 2022 Lori VanHove

1971 Jeanie Chabot 1997 Linda Healion 2023 Lori VanHove

1972 Pat Hill 1998 Linda Healion 2024 Lisa Free

1973 Sue Hill 1999 Linda Healion

1974 Jan Fohl 2000 Linda Healion

1975 Dorothy DeVries 2001 Linda Healion

1976 Dorothy DeVries 2002 Charbe Benvenuto

1977 Dorothy DeVries 2003 Linda Healion

1978 Dorothy LaFever 2004 Linda Healion

1979 Fern Holmes 2005 Linda Healion

1980 Dorothy LaFever 2006 Teresa Gonzales

1981 Delma Brodeck 2007 Jan Baker

1982 Audrey Etchison 2008 Jan Baker

1983 Dorothy DeVries 2009 Linda Healion

1984 Audrey Etchison 2010 Corkie Birdsall

1985 Ginny Waugh 2011 Linda Healion

1986 Dorothy LaFever 2012 Linda Healion

1987 Dorothy LaFever 2013 Lori VanHove

1988 Dorothy LaFever 2014 Lori VanHove

1989 Dorothy LaFever 2015 Lori VanHove

1990 Dorothy LaFever 2016 Teresa Gonzales

1991 Diane Burdick 2017 Lori VanHove

1992 Charbe Benvenuto 2018 Lori VanHove

1993 Linda Healion 2019 Lori VanHove

1994 Linda Healion 2020 Lina Huh

1995 Linda Healion 2021 Lori VanHove

SJHWGA President's Cup Winners

2002	Lisa Ulnick	2021	Helen Kim
2003	Linda Healion	2022	Tracy Kilpatrick
2004	Linda Healion	2023	Nancy Webster
2005	Diane Burdick	2024	Barb Kowalczyk
2006	Linda Healion		
2007	Judy Hoyt		
2008	Mary Dean		
2009	Lynn Nelson		
2010	Linda Healion		
2011	Sonia Shalhub		
2012	Linda Healion		
2013	Val Fitzpatrick		
2014	Mary Dean		
2015	Karen Yoshihara		
2016	Sonia Shalhub		
2017	Sonia Shalhub		
2018	Tracy Steele		
2019	Cindy Schumacher		
2020	No Tournament		

History of SJHWGA

In the late 1960s, a group of women envisioned creating a women's golf league at the newly built San Juan Hills Golf Course. With support from course management, Chris Harrington, the wife of the Director of Golf, reached out to several women golfers to bring this idea to life. Among the founding members was Dottie LaFever, who later served five terms as SJHWGA President.

As the story goes, Thursday was chosen as Ladies Play Day because Dottie was already committed to bowling on the originally proposed Tuesday. Marge Debach became the first President in 1969, leading a club that started with approximately 40 members. They established by-laws and procedures, and the club quickly grew in popularity. At one point, membership required sponsorship and meeting qualifying standards, with some women waiting up to two years to join.

SJHWGA initially affiliated with WAGA (Western American Golf Association), and many members played active roles on the WAGA board. Later, WAGA merged with WSCGA (Women's Southern California Golf Association), which primarily served private golf clubs. In 2008, SJHWGA switched to the San Diego County Women's Golf Association. Once again, members contributed actively, participating in team play, association events, course ratings, and board activities. The club is currently affiliated with SCGA (Southern California Golf Association). Membership grew rapidly between 2020 and 2023, leading to a cap of 120 members.

Many members cherish fond memories of earlier years. Liz Shattuck, President in 1973 and 1974, proposed the roadrunner as the club's official symbol. Linda Healion, the Club President in 2009 & 2010, introduced the Hills Creek Cup, a three-round challenge with the Tijeras Creek Golf Course ladies' club. Dottie LaFever and Binkie Valentine, President in 1994, coordinated biannual "away trips," which became legendary adventures both on and off the course. The club has even seen intergenerational membership, with Corkie Birdsall, the 2010 Club Champion, following in the footsteps of her mother, Adele Hanson, a once-active SJHWGA member.

The Binky Valentine Pink Ball Tournament was later renamed the Binky-Burdick Tournament to honor Diane Burdick, a longtime member who passed away on December 24, 2020. Known for its entertaining moments, the tournament often involved players going to great lengths to retrieve the pink ball—even wading into lakes! This event has since evolved into a three-day Eclectic Major Tournament.

In 2020, Tournament Chair Robin Fong initiated the "Home 2 Home" friendly team competitions with other local golf courses. By 2022, overnight away trips were reintroduced, becoming highly popular and fun events

In 2024, SJHWGA adopted the Golf Genius platform for managing weekly tournament stats and mobile scoring. Spearheaded by Tournament Chair Letty Burks, board members organized training sessions to help members learn the system. This effort streamlined the scoring process and was a great success.

The SJHWGA continues to make history, creating new memories while honoring its rich legacy.